Mandate

Hello. I have a question that has to do with Christians somewhat. Although I should say this question is more linguistic than religious. Anyway I hope to find answers here.

I was talking to a Christian, and he told me that the mandate of his church was such and such.

I want to find out what that sentence means. I know what "mandate" means in a secular context, but am not sure if it has a different meaning in a religious/Christian context.

Can I understand his sentence to mean, "the purpose of my church is such and such"?

Please note I am not trying to find out what the mandate of any Christian church is. I am trying to find out what is meant when someone said, "the mandate of ____ is ______".

Thanks.

Hello, Wan and nice to have you with us. As an example of 'mandate' - as a non denominational Pastor, I have no denominational or administrative orders to follow to teach a certain way. Within Christianity, there are currently over 36,000 different denominations, each with a slightly different way of doing and teaching things. In this context, 'Mandate' would probably mean that the church administration that you were told about requires a certain way of teaching their denominational beliefs and their staff members can not vary from those orders.

I'm sure others here at CFS can expand on this with you.

Once again, nice to have you with us here at CFS...

Blessings.

`

Hello. I have a question that has to do with Christians somewhat. Although I should say this question is more linguistic than religious. Anyway I hope to find answers here.

I was talking to a Christian, and he told me that the mandate of his church was such and such.

I want to find out what that sentence means. I know what "mandate" means in a secular context, but am not sure if it has a different meaning in a religious/Christian context.

Can I understand his sentence to mean, "the purpose of my church is such and such"?