Dating down

Should career, education and money play a part in choosing a spouse? I have a degree with a "professional" job but the guy I'm interested in doesn't have a degree and professional job yet but we make about the same amount of money. He's also 5 yrs younger. My mother thinks he someone for me to just have as a friend since he's not where I'm at yet. Thoughts?

A point to ponder;.....If you met a suitor ...oh....say a physician...who did not believe in Christ, neither practice life guided by Christian values.....but who exceeded your education values standard..... would that be more socially equitable ...in your analysis?
Study KJV 1611 Bible and you will find the answers ...if guidance is indicated.

Monet a education is nice thing to have. But at same time it doesn’t bring you love and happiness. Actually the edifice of education was once to better society. Now it be more about the size of ones salary cap these days. My thoughts the age difference not so much a problem at least from my cultural perspective the difference can be 5 fold that. But secondly before the Christian faith. Does he make you happy. Will he be there every new day to greet the new morning with you and every evening to tuck you into bed. ❤️

What do you mean 'he is not where I'm at yet.'
Will you be able to sincerely say the traditional wedding vows?
Marriage is a wonderful thing if it is in Christ.
Marriage is at best a convenient thing if it is just a contract.
I don't see social status as being a scriptural requirement. In fact, it is the Christian lot to encounter trials and troubles for the profecting of the Saints. Not suggesting we ought to look for trouble but in a good marriage we can encourage one another as we press on rejoicing in the glorious light keeping our eyes on Him. If you both have christian values and you love each other then marriage seems to be a reasonable step.

Are you both born again christians that's the question.