Study techniques, journaling, etc.

AtomicSnowflake

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Senior Moderator
Secretary
Just curious as to what methods of study everyone uses... Some people do Bible journaling & art, others use the "soap" method of study, verse mapping, and alot of other techniques.
If you have a particular method of studying or learning scripture that you prefer, I'd love to hear about it. Or if anyone has any photos they would like to share, I think it would be nice.

Hello AtomicSnowflake,

I'm new to the bible and I think this post is a great idea!

The bible I initially read, was the King James version. I bought it from a cathedral shop, and was really fortunate to have it blessed by a passing Arch Deacon (I kid you not)! Reading it dug me out of a great big hole in my life. Even though I didn't have a proper understanding of it, it soothed me somehow and led me in the right direction. There's something quite comforting about 'Old English', for me, anyway.

But it soon became apparent that I needed to actually study it and gain a more thorough understanding. So, I recently purchased the 'ESV Study Bible', which is perfect for me and my logical brain. It has maps, timelines, and explanations/interpretations from a prominent group of Christians, most of whom have PHDs, eek.

The only downsides to this book are:

1. It's the size and weight of 2 x house bricks.

2. It's written in American English, which drives me a little bit bonkers coz I've spent all these years learning to spell my own crazy language :):):)

Aside from that, it's fascinating and helpful, and I really feel I'm starting to getting to grips with The Greatest Book Ever Written!

As for how people memorise it, I have no clue. My poor menopausal brain has rendered me incapable of remembering why I opened the fridge, let alone anything else:(:)

Blessings to you

Annie x