1. Hello Guest! You are browsing the forums as a guest; you will have limited permissions as a guest so we advise registering to enjoy the forums fully. Remember: we are a Christian ONLY site - any user who is not Christian will not be approved. Blessings, Christian Forum Site Staff
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for some help with depression from the Bible

Discussion in 'Marriage and Relationships' started by Spookycolt, May 3, 2015.

1. Going through a divorce and sometimes the depression just seems overwhelming and admittedly I am not an expert on the Bible yet so I was wondering if perhaps anyone here may be able to direct me to some passages that may take me out of these slumps I go through.

I have thought about going back to my shrink for medication but that is not really a cure, its just a Band-Aid and I would really, desperately like to get past this.

Thank you
  2. #2 Mykuhl, May 3, 2015
    Last edited: May 3, 2015
    I am sorry to hear that you are going through depression, but please know that you can surely be free of it through Jesus Christ. I will pray for you. In the mean time, I have these scriptures for you to meditate on: Psalms 42:5, Psalms 23(all of it) this psalm is a comforting psalm but it is also one of victory. The Lord showed me this truth just recently. It was something I never saw before.
    Also, 2Corinthians 10:3-5. Every depressing thought and lie of the devil must be taken captive and replaced with the truth spoken in the Word of God.
    Cturtle likes this.
  3. Hello Spookycolt.
    Been there, done that. Getting divorced is a sad and frightening thing.
    There is more to it than depression. There is grief and loss, guilt, anger, fear of loneliness, fear judgement, etc. All these negative emotions are fear-based, and being caught in it points to forgetting to put one's faith into action.