1. Hello Guest! You are browsing the forums as a guest; you will have limited permissions as a guest so we advise registering to enjoy the forums fully. Remember: we are a Christian ONLY site - any user who is not Christian will not be approved. Blessings, Christian Forum Site Staff
    Dismiss Notice

Kissing Before Marriage?

Discussion in 'Marriage and Relationships' started by 1cor1313, Jul 2, 2012.

1. Hello and thank you for reading my post. I'll try to keep it short!
    When I was younger, sometime in my early teens, I had read about someone who saved her first kiss for her engagement and I decided that the idea seemed very romantic and became attached to it. The decision had nothing to do with my religious beliefs, but eventually it became a part of who I was. In following years, I was always very careful about getting involved with any boys because I didn't really know how to deal with wanting to kiss but trying to save that at the same time. The summer after I graduated high school, I started to "date" a guy that I considered to be just a friend. I didn't know it at the time, but both of us were in this pseudo-relationship for the same (and wrong) reasons. We were both in love with the idea of being in a relationship. I got caught up in the new experiences and one night he asked if he could kiss me. I knew that if I said yes, it would go against everything I had planned for myself as well as breaking with who I am. But I also really wanted to experience a kiss, and as much as I hate to admit it, I was 18 and wanted to be able to say that I had my first kiss. So in the end, we did kiss. Immediately, I knew that I had done wrong because I realized that I was not just living a lie, but that I was using someone else. Not to mention that I was very disappointed in myself for giving in to temptation. I ended up breaking it off with that guy the same night.