1. Hello Guest! You are browsing the forums as a guest; you will have limited permissions as a guest so we advise registering to enjoy the forums fully. Remember: we are a Christian ONLY site - any user who is not Christian will not be approved. Blessings, Christian Forum Site Staff
    Dismiss Notice

I am considering leaving my fiancé.

Discussion in 'Marriage and Relationships' started by FatherOfIsrael, Dec 13, 2014.

1. #1 FatherOfIsrael, Dec 13, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2014
    I have been dating my fiancé for two years and a half. We are both past our mid-twenties. I am an elementary school teacher interested in the arts, in music, in missions, and in spirituality. He is a mathematician and a computer scientist interested in politics, in physics, in reason, and in logic.

He is a great man: he spends and invests generously on me; he always has something compelling and stimulating to talk about: the universe, morality, et cetera; and he has gently set some of my past shortcomings and bad habits straight. However, although he is a Christian, he does not share my passion for God: I lead a life in pursuit of a great call, and he leads a life in pursuit of peace, patience, joy, et cetera—he is devoid of an ultimate ministry or "God" call.

Because I love God more than I love him, and because I have discussed this with him countless times to no avail, I am seriously considering leaving my fiancé because he will be a hindrance to my ultimate calling. Please advise me on how to achieve this. Moreover, he just enrolled in graduate school to begin his Ph.D. next year; I need him to support me in my recent music ministry full-time (paid, mind you), not spend all of his time reading and studying (like he currently is).

2. It's late here in California, but I'm a bit confused by your post here:

and then your post in 2013: